HB 206 Proposed Mitigation Districts

"Mitigation district" means each river watershed as defined in § 33.2-247 of the Code of Virginia, including the Potomac River Basin, Shenandoah River Basin, James River Basin, Rappahannock River Basin, Roanoke and Yadkin Rivers Basin, Chowan River Basin (including the Dismal Swamp and Albemarle Sound), Tennessee River Basin, Big Sandy River Basin, Chesapeake Bay and its Small Coastal Basins, Atlantic Ocean, York River Basin, and New River Basin with the following exceptions: the Atlantic Ocean is combined with the Chesapeake Bay and its Small Coastal Basins east of the Chesapeake Bay and labeled "Eastern Shore," the Chesapeake Bay and its Small Coastal Basins west of the Chesapeake Bay is combined with adjacent major river basins, and the James River Basin has been divided into upper, middle, and lower basins.

River Watersheds as Mitigation Districts

